and this is how it starts

The 1975: Sex

Hello.

My name is Coral and I am a 23 year old American Studies graduate (Class of 2013) from Manchester. I am currently in limbo with regards to “what I want to do with my life”. I have a special interest in academic writing, coupled with human rights law (especially gay rights) and, of course, American Studies. “American Studies? What’s that?” I hear you ask. In a nutshell: an all-encompassing, multi-disciplinary subject / umbrella term for anything remotely “American”. My degree focused on the cultural side (which is where my interests lie) and my dissertation, entitled “Homophobia and the American Jeremiad” discussed America’s anti-gay Christian Right.

Whilst plotting my next moves (an American Studies MA? A law conversion course?), I aim to (on the advice of another, I hasten to add!) document my musings on the things that are important to me here. My favourite topics of discussion are the previously discussed gay rights, human rights, the Christian Right (religion and sexuality), law, politics and social inequality. I may add a bit of architecture, photography and music in for good measure, and to lighten the mood once in a while – we’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

