the sheer terror of attending one’s dream workplace

I had a meeting about volunteering today. Not volunteering for just anyone. Volunteering for an organisation that I wouldn’t mind working for one day. (Read: I’d work there in a heartbeat if I could.) 

I’m not sure if I’ve discussed this previously, but it’s my life’s ambition to be a researcher for a gay rights organisation. I went to meet with the Volunteer Manager at a one such institution n today about the opportunities they have for people like me. This was more because I’m working at a job that I have experience in but isn’t my vocation, and I would really like to get to know how these kinds of places work so I can see what I’m getting myself into.

So there I am, overjoyed to have even been afforded the opportunity to set foot in the place when the question of what I actually want to do comes up. Little minnow me, heart on sleeve type, does a bit of a mind vomit: “It’s my life’s ambition to be a researcher for a gay rights organisation. I wrote my dissertation about the Homophobia of the Christian Right in America and would REALLY like to get into the field.” Needless to say, the best thing to happen in a fortnight then happened. It had never even crossed my mind that there would be such a thing as a research volunteer. Like, why wouldn’t I have thought about that? So anyway, what might be happening is that I get the chance to volunteer in the Policy and Research Department of said organisation. Aaaand I couldn’t be happier about that.

I also realised quite quickly that I would drown so fast working at a gay rights organisation at the moment. Everything moves immensely quickly, and there’s so much basic knowledge to learn before you’ve even started, I was amazed. A 10,000 word dissertation means absolutely nothing.

Then I went to hot yoga which was equally as brilliant. Savasana :] I haven’t been in about six weeks and I can really tell the difference. My body is far more tense, and its general flexibility is pathetic at the moment. General aches and pains are terrible. I’m going to try and go to class once a week as I really feel the psychological and physiological effects. Namaste!

Leave a Reply

